New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Research ANSI X12 837 file viewer editor
Topic Originator: Grant Porteous
Post Date August 4, 2008 @ 3:13 PM
Research ANSI X12 837 file viewer editor

Grant Porteous
August 4, 2008 @ 3:13 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

Hi all.

My wife runs a small medical billing practice. Amongst her many headaches is dealing with the 837 files that get sent out and occasionally need to be inspected for errors and corrected.  

The actual problem is with the Practice Management software she using.  However, I am a software developer (medical software) and always on the lookout for a solution to provide.  I have an idea to create an application that would make it easier to read/edit/save the claim files.

The program would read in and ANSI 837, display the information in a human readable format and then allow the user to edit and then re-save the file.

I have done some searching and have found a few solutions. Some of those are too grandiose for what she would need (targetted for corporations etc).  

Do any of you have an opinion of such software.  
Do you think there is a market for it?
What would it need to do to be sellable?

Thank you for reading

Grant
837Reader.com

Calvin Fenton
August 5, 2008 @ 1:52 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

For an 837 EDI file to be HIPAA compliant it is not just a matter of going in and modify or edit the file. There are a number to ANSI 837 rules that is specified in the 837 implementation guide that the user is going to have to follow to make the file valid. One of the reasons that some, Practice Management software has problems with the file is the hierarchical structure (Loops and Segment) of the 837 file, before you can create the software above you have to be able to understand these rules from the ANSI 837 implementation guide.