New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Credentialing services
Topic Originator: Patricia Orr
Post Date August 31, 2006 @ 6:54 PM
Credentialing services

Patricia Orr
August 31, 2006 @ 6:54 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

Hello All,

I am new to credentialing and wanted to know if this will be a good service to add to my business?  How much should I charge.  I am thinking of marketing to new medical practices and found a site where you can purchase mailing list. (not sure if I can post the company name) but if you do a google search type in mailing list. I got a list of about 25 names for under $25.  some of the practices I contacted were really really new, they weren't seeing patient yet!

But about the credentially, I know what it is, but how hard is it to learn to do it?  are there any helpful site out there I can use?

Thanks,
Patricia

Dan Young
September 12, 2006 @ 1:13 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

Hi Patricia,

Contracting can be complicated, especially when yu consider that your provider's livelyhood is based upon the negotiated contracts.  For example, an insurance contract might pay at 120% of Medicare allowable, but in the fine print they may state that they are only going to pay 80% of their contract to the provider.  For example, lets say a procedure pays at $85.00.  The insurance fee schedule is  80% of the 120%, which is $81.60.  You would'nt know this is if you didn't read the fine print.  You will need to have a grasps of the current fee schedules to know how to negotiate for your providers.  Also, what is the prevailing charge for credentialing in your area?  Some providers are getting soaked with charges into the hundreds, and others might pay as little as $50.00 for recredentialing, and $75.00 for new credentialing.

We charge our providers a discount for credentialing if we do their entire billing.  

Make sure you have a contract that protects you.  Remember the Golden rule:  CYA

Steve Verno