Medical Billing Coding - Training Primer, New or Established patient, cpt, codes
medical billing and coding forum

BC Advantage Magazine

Billing-Coding.com

(FORUM HOME)

General Medical Coding Forum

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Training Primer, New or Established patient
Topic Originator: Steve
Post Date May 16, 2011 @ 11:55 AM
Training Primer, New or Established patient

Steve
May 16, 2011 @ 11:55 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I get asked this alot.  (Disclaimer:  I am not a lawyer, I do not provide legal advice.  This post is for training purposes only.  Names are fictitious, any resemblance to a real name is coincidental)

Scenario:

Ms Borush is a patient of Dr. George Hamilton, a doctor in Binghamton, New York.  She has been seeing Dr. Hamilton for 20 years.  On March 23, 2008 Mrs. Borush moves from Johnson City, NY to Albany, NY.    On January 12, 2011, she moves back to Johnson City.  Mrs. Borush makes an appointment with Dr. Hamilton's office for February 22, 2011.  Prior to 2008, Mrs. Borush had health insurance through Empire Blue Cross from her employer, Endicott Johnson Shoes.  Now Mrs. Borush is uninsured.  Dr. Hamilton's office manager recommends coding this visit as a new patient simply because she is now uninsured and its been a few years since she was seen and this is a new medical condition.  

When we code office visits (Evaluation and Management), when there are codes for a new patient or an established patient, we must understand the guidelines for the codes we want to select and report for payment.  When you look at the CPT E/M guidelines, you see the following: