Medical Billing Coding - Medical Coding Student looking for help/resources, cpt, codes
medical billing and coding forum

BC Advantage Magazine

Billing-Coding.com

(FORUM HOME)

General Medical Coding Forum

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Medical Coding Student looking for help/resources
Topic Originator: Me
Post Date December 1, 2012 @ 6:13 AM
Medical Coding Student looking for help/resources

Me
December 1, 2012 @ 6:13 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I am a coding student currently taking a course at a technical High school which runs from this/last September to May. We are using the Buck 2012 Step by Step Coding books and workbook. Our teacher has said that everyone she has trained has passed the CPC-A, which will be the exam I will be taking after I May, I'm guessing. Though, I think I will want to take the CCS test as well, as it seems that commands a higher salary.

There are a few things I'm concerned about. One is this course (a continuous class from September to May) does not include an etiology class. While We did have medical terminology, what we'll have to know is what diagnosis goes along with the symptoms. While the medical terminology will tell you what appendicitis and nephritis are, it won't tell you what causes them, what symptoms go along with them.

And, suppose someone has pain in their right lower quadrant, and they find appendicitis and Nephritis, how would you know which one goes along with their symptoms, both perhaps? Our teacher says "Well, you're going to have to learn this (once again there is no etiology class) you're going to have to google often" Do you think this is a good way to learn, sounds kind of crude to me. For those of you who have passed a certification test, how did you learn this?