BC Advantage Magazine

Career Advice

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Billing or Coding
Topic Originator: Rick
Post Date March 15, 2005 @ 1:03 PM
Billing or Coding

March 15, 2005 @ 1:03 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

After a quick 6 months of study, my Billing/Coding course is almost up. So it wont be long till I get out in the real work and try to find a job. Should I look more for a Billers job or Coders job. And what pays better?

Just remember I have no real work experience apart from the 6 week externship I am doing.

March 15, 2005 @ 1:24 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I am sure we have all been here before!

Okay its probably easier to get a coding job or a front office/coding job to start with. Though I prefer Billing myself. So if you can get straight into billing go for it.

Make sure you put your heart and every effort into it at this stage. As even if you start with coding you will be able to move over into billing a lot quicker. Some beginers just sit back and think, great I have a job, I am set.

Depending on who you work for, and waht exactly you do will depend on the salary. I have been a biller for the past 4 years. I am on $17.40 per hour in AZ.

March 31, 2005 @ 6:33 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

What you say is you bill for a physican or hospital?  Because I am a coder for a hospital in Michigan (only a 43 bed one) but we have 4 coders here with all the out pt services...and the billers don't make as much as us.  
I would be interested in knowing overall which career pays better.  I also have always felt the coding is more difficult to break into than billing.  Maybe this is a Doctor's office vs Hospital thing?

April 2, 2005 @ 5:16 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

This is for Brenda...I'm in Michigan (Macomb Township) I was thinking about getting into coding/billing.  How do you break into the business?