Career Advice

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Should I open an office??
Topic Originator: Amanda
Post Date August 23, 2006 @ 8:38 PM
Should I open an office??

Amanda
August 23, 2006 @ 8:38 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I have been running a successfull billing service for almost two years now from home and am considering getting an office to hire a few employees.  Originally the plan was to stay at home and not worry about employees but I am now second guessing myself and wondering if getting an office with employees is a better long term goal so that I won't have to do as much of the data entry myself.  I hesitate to get an office because I like being at home and I like not having to worry about employee issues.  I am not sure how much more I would make with all of the expense of overhead and office expenses versus being on my own.  I would only plan on hiring 3-4 billers.  The flip side is to have one employee work with me out of my home, or thirdly having a few employees work for me from their home?????   Just wondering if anyone has thoughts or suggestions or words of wisdom.

Leah
August 23, 2006 @ 10:03 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

Well, you don't really give enough information.  And, of course, you realize this is a purely personal decision anyway.  NO ONE can answer this for you.  But, especially without knowing specifically why you are even pondering the decision.  Has business gotten too big for you to handle?  Or do you just WISH business was too big for you to handle and figure if you hire the employees and rent the space the business will automatically follow?

Amanda
August 23, 2006 @ 10:45 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top