Career Advice

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Help!! I need Interview Advice
Topic Originator: MissPullin
Post Date April 13, 2007 @ 6:20 AM
Help!! I need Interview Advice

MissPullin
April 13, 2007 @ 6:20 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I have an interview this coming Tuesday for a Coder/Biller in an Outpatient OB/GYN dept for a major hospital in my city.  My problem is that I've never done OB/GYN coding before. I want this position so bad that I can taste it!!! I know that I need to sell myself to convince them that I am the one for this job.

-Can anyone tell me how different or difficult is OB coding?
-Does anyone have any tips or interview advice on what to say to make it sound like I know what I'm taking about as far has OB coding is concerned?
_ And most important are there any articles or any books that  I can read over the weekend to help me?

I thank everyone in advance for their input.

Linda Gutgsell
April 26, 2007 @ 10:43 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

The best advice is to stick to what you know. If you don't have experience in OB/GYN Coding you are not doing the Physician any favors and you certainly aren't doing yourself any favor by applying for this job. Even if you land the job, it will not be long before claims are denied or truncated because of coding and billing errors. You would serve yourself and the Physicians better if you were up front with them and then take it upon yourself to get educated and trained in your field of interest.

Coding Advice
April 26, 2007 @ 8:38 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I could not agree more.  There is an opening at our local hospital for a heart surgeon and I have always wanted to do heart surgery and I want this job so back I can taste it.  Problem...I'm not a doctor and I don't know anything about heart surgery.  Are there any books I can read or is there a website I can go to so I sound like I know about heart surgery?