Career Advice

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Resume
Topic Originator: Dee
Post Date June 9, 2005 @ 9:41 AM
Resume

Dee
June 9, 2005 @ 9:41 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I am new to the industry with no work experience. Most of my previous positions have been in hospitality. Should I place these past positions on my resume or is it irrelevant?

Thank you
Dee

Lisa Paoli
June 9, 2005 @ 6:58 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I would put your past experiences and educational courses taken.  They look at the background and how you keep yourself up to date

Lisa Paoli, CMRS
www.medofficesolutions.net
www.localchapters.net

Sheila
June 9, 2005 @ 8:26 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

What position are looking for?

A good way to do a resume for someone who hasn't had much industry experience is to highlight your skills (ie. medical terminology, ICD-9/CPT coding, attention to detail, teamwork etc) and education. Then add your past positions. Don;t forget to come up with a good objective as well. In the objective you can point out that you are looking for an entry level position (easier to get when you are newer) etc.

In your cover letter you can reiterate your education to the position requirements and emphasise your willingness to learn. The most important thing is to get your foot in the door so that you can impress in the interview.

I was in hospitatlity for many years and found it hard to start in the medical administrative industry. I initially did a course and started working in front desk and used that experience to learn more about insurances and general office operations before moving on and working as a biller. It didn't take long but at least I got my foot in the door and proved to the bosses that I could do it even with minimal experience.

Good luck!

Pat
December 24, 2005 @ 10:28 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top