Career Advice

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: Advice
Topic Originator: Angel
Post Date September 8, 2008 @ 11:59 PM
Advice

Angel
September 8, 2008 @ 11:59 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I graduated from Billing and Coding course 2 years ago but until now I can't get a job because most companies are hiring experience people and certified by the state not just from school. I've been spending money for sending faxes and application forms plus applying to the internet job opening  they send to my email , and my interviews and test from each company went great but still the same reason. Is there any company that let the newcomers in the field of billing and coding do the job by training them?, I even applied for volunteer or sometimes no salary at all just to let me in the position that I would love to fill in because taking CPC exam requires experience. My school said that If you get 180 hours from school that could be waived as one experience or so but I had 1000 hours is it possible that I could just waive my hours so I can take my state exam?. Please tell me what to do, I even sent an email to my local chapter but no avail. Thank you very much.

Linda Walker
September 9, 2008 @ 7:07 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

Are you looking only at working for a medical billing company? If so you are putting too much limitations on yourself. Check with your local hospital's and doctors offices, they would be more apt to hire someone before a medical billing company.

Linda Walker
Practice Managers Resource & Networking Community
www.billerswebsite.com

Angel
September 10, 2008 @ 4:57 AM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

Hi Linda,