Career Advice

New Topic  |  Search

Thread Topic: here is some job search advice
Topic Originator: Marynza
Post Date September 10, 2008 @ 8:44 PM
here is some job search advice

Marynza
September 10, 2008 @ 8:44 PM Reply  |  Email Friend   |  |Print  |  Top

I graduated in June and shortly after my school set me up w/an interview as part of their placement assistance program, I did not get the job and the sent me on only a few other interviews that got me no where. I was feeling really bad and having financial problems and really desperatly need a job, so three months after my initial interview I called back the first place I had interviewed at at left a voice message that I was still interested in a position if one should open up. Two weeks later they called me back for a second interview and quickly offered me a position, they hired someone who didn't work out and they were looking for someone to fill in...even if a company turns you down it might be that they just don't have a need or a place you can fill at the moment but a month or two or three later down the line somthing might open up so don't give up on getting a job at the place you really want to work just because they turn you down the first time. When I swallowed my pride to call them back I thought it would be pointless because if they wanted me they would have hired me before but I was proven wrong.  I am not getting paid as much as I was expecting or would like but hey it's a great billing company and at least I have a starting point for a while there it seems like no one would want me. Now I just have to do a good job so they keep giving me more responsibilities. I'm only on my third day at the job and feel in over my head all the time, my school couldn't teach me the things I'm learning now.

P.S. I sent my resume to over 50 position openings and not one of them would offer me an interview... the only interviews I was able to get were through my school or temp agencys.

I HAVE A JOB!!! :)

Angel